276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Tapping at My Door: A gripping serial killer thriller (The DS Nathan Cody series)

£9.495£18.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

It is a very tense read that had me shouting out things like, NO WAY and OMG, that is how wrapped up I was in the story. The idea of multiple murders accompanied by exotic clues felt exploitative to me, especially when the setting for the crimes was so realistic. A pacy, suspenseful story with a dramatic finale and with some teasing loose ends that will no doubt be followed up (I hope!

I'm reserved because usually the characters don't quite mesh or the mystery is an easy one that will build in upcoming books. The way Jackson describes the relationships makes the reader feel like you already know the personalities and just can't wait to learn more about them. A few months ago, many of my fellow book bloggers were talking about the second book in the DS Nathan Cody series, Hope to Die. Which is why, even though I think 'A Tapping At My Door' was a four-star read, I don't want to read any more of this series.

I hadn't heard of David Jackson, so I read the reviews and thought 'here is an author whose writing I should enjoy'. Full disclosure - I'll happily watch some derivative, third-rate procedural, but if I spend my time on reading, I expect it to be at least of Simenon standard. This is fiction afterall, why can't the detective not have PTSD, have a perfect family life, understanding wife/ GF and completely focus on solving crimes? Further to the key theme of this particular case, there is the personal trauma and coping mechanisms of DS Nathan Cody himself that begin to become unraveled over the course of the book leaving me excited to pick up the next in the series to know more about Cody and what will happen next in his personal journey.

The interactions between Nathan and the other characters in this book were great and often provided some light relief from what is a very intense, dark and emotional plot. I actually cared about his progression throughout the story, he very quickly became somebody that I could see as a real person. David Jackson, really made this into a great read that keeps you interested till the very last page. Tapping at my Door by David Jackson | Follow DS Nathan Cody as he tries to catch a murderer who is targeting police officers in Liverpool. There is so much that I want to say about this story, but a lot of it is about the characters and the plot developments and it would almost certainly ruin the story for potential readers.I appreciate that the backstory for the book's antagonist is a real-life event, but, firstly - few people outside of a specific UK town care or know of that event, and secondly, Chernobyl and the Armenian Genocide were also real-life tragedies, but you don't see them often mentioned in crime drama. From the bestselling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham.

Her murder is followed by the death of her old partner and all too quickly there are more dead officers. I may go back to it, because of the reviews and the likelihood that it just wasn't for me at the time and/or I might try his next book, but for this reading . Clearly there will be a sequel which sounds as if it has potential and I'm hoping it will be better. As flashbacks from his past begin to intrude, Cody realises he is battling not just a murderer but his own inner demons, too. I wished, she was the first victim and Cody could add that to one of the reasons for being so morose.Highly recommended for all readers of British crime fiction who like suspenseful, clever stories with extremely well-drawn characters. I just hope Cody will get a grip soon, and come back to his senses, seeing that he is decided not to resort to psychiatric help.

The majority of pages are undamaged with some creasing or tearing, and pencil underlining of text, but this is minimal. I also loved his boss, DCI Stella Blunt who threatened to ride roughshod over everyone on her sporadic appearances in the plot, with an incomparable mix of steel underscored by a certain softness. Seller has stated it will dispatch the item within 1 working day upon receipt of cleared payment - opens in a new window or tab .

I wondered where this story was going in the first few chapters but so glad I kept on listening to which turned out to be an excellent story. In the main, the chapters featuring the murderer give little detail, except for their obsession with birds. Let's start with the former; we have - the Main Guy, aka a loose cannon, the man with the past, he of few words and even fewer coherent thoughts.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment